The political map for Sunderland and County Durham could be changed under new proposals – but Sunderland Central constituency will remain unchanged.


The Boundary Commission for England (BCE) is carrying out a review of all Parliamentary constituencies and will make final proposals to the Government in September 2018.

The proposals, which will see the number of North East seats reduced by four to 25, include:

* Sunderland Central constituency, which Julie Elliott serves as MP, remaining unchanged.

* Washington and Sunderland West constituency, served by Sharon Hodgson MP, to include the Sandhill ward.

* A new Houghton and Seaham constituency that would take in wards represented by both Bridget Phillipson in Houghton and Sunderland South and Grahame Morris in Easington.

* A new City of Durham and Easington constituency that would include Horden, Murton, Peterlee and Easington.


Link to Instagram Link to Twitter Link to YouTube Link to Facebook Link to LinkedIn Link to Snapchat Close Fax Website Location Phone Email Calendar Building Search